Outreach programs

The importance of awareness campaigns on the role of parliamentarians, the parliamentary system and the political process is key to increasing engagement, especially among youth. The CWP works independantly and in partnership with existing campaign schools and encourages other legislatures and advocacy groups to develop similar programs.

The aims of the outreach program are to:

  • EDUCATE: Create and enhance awareness of politics and realities of political life, women's under-representation in politics and the resulting democratic deficit, while providing information about what to do if one wants to follow a political aspiration;
  • CONNECT: Introduce women and girls to poiliticians and role models who can engage women and girls in political conversation;
  • EMPOWER: Motivate and inspire women and girls to become politicians;
  • ENGAGE: Provide learning, networking and coaching environments for CWP participants, further allowing to share knowledge and experience with each other.

The objectives of the outreach program are to:

  • Explain the role of the CWP and objectives of the CWP Outreach Program;
  • Describe the multiple roles of parliamentarians in their community, in committees and in the Chamber;
  • Underline the importance of youth engagment in school politics and in their community;
  • Explain the election process and talk about their personal experience during their own campaigns;
  • Offer support to candidates as they seek public office;
  • Underline the importance of community and constituency involvement;
  • Refer women to resource where they can find further information.


Next Outreach Program:

  • 2024 - to be determined¬†

List of Previous Outreach Programs:

  • 2023 - Cancelled
  • 2022 - Cancelled
  • 2021 - Cancelled
  • 2020 - Cancelled
  • 2019 - Nova Scotia
  • 2018 - Alberta
  • 2017 - Yukon
  • 2016 - Saskatchewan
  • 2015 - Ontario
  • 2014 - Newfoundland and Labrador
  • 2013 - Quebec
  • 2011 - Prince Edward Island
  • 2010 - British Colombia
  • 2009 - Nunavut
  • 2008 - Nova Scotia
  • 2007 - Northwest Territories